After thrice attempts....lost Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
fire_fried_rice

New

After thrice attempts....lost

Post by fire_fried_rice » Thu Jul 13, 2017 11:25 am

This june test was my thrice attempt at lsat and of course I have yet again failed to get that dream score. The first two attempts, I admit that I was unprepared. I prepared for the test while at undergrad doing 18 credit + some extra works and that sure didn't work out (not to mention I only spent three to four months preparing for it). This time though (and this is after I graduated), I devoted about 6 hours per day and took my time to do the BR. And I actually felt I was improving. I started off with somewhere around low 160s to high 160s and occasional low 170s. Two month before the actual exam, I understood what the questions were asking me to find and I understood how to approach the questions to answer it. I came to the point where when I was doing the BR, most of the questions that I got wrong in the first place were due to some foolish mistakes or some misunderstanding of the answer choices. After doing the BR, the only questions that I really had difficulty were three or four. Thus, I kept on trying not to make those silly mistakes, but PT after PT, I could not close that gap. The actual exam day came and the score came out as 163, so far beneath what I was usually averaging when doing practice test. Frankly, I feel quite beaten down. I just don't know how to actually improve 'another level'. People say that lsat is learnable, and to a certain degree I do agree with that. But there is this big wall that seems to be blocking my way and I don't have the faintest clue as to how to overcome that.

"just keep on practicing and you'll get it'. No. I don't get it. Maybe I'm doing BR the wrong way or maybe I'm just not quite capable to answer questions correctly. Sigh..would love advice or help or actual experience of overcoming the barrier to higher score.