Been studying and score has gone down Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Cheyenne

New

Been studying and score has gone down

Post by Cheyenne » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:15 pm

I have been studying on and off for the LSAT for 2 years. I took a Testmasters class over the summer in 2014 then stopped studying. I began studying again in spring 2016 for about 2 months then stopped again. I started back studying in March 2017 for the June 2017 LSAT and consistently studied for 3 months. During this time I hired a private tutor (10 hours with him overall). I have been using the Powerscore Bibles as well as taking diagnostics and reviewing them. On average, I study 20-25 hours per week. My first diagnostic in March 2017 was a 158. My next was a 160 but then after that I began scoring in the low150s for all of my practice tests. My last practice test before the June LSAT was a 153 so I didn't sit for the the June exam. Not sure what I am doing wrong. I am aiming to get my score to a 170 for the September LSAT. Thus, I would love some recommendations/advice on what I can change to make my score increase?

MediocreAtBest

Silver

Re: Been studying and score has gone down

Post by MediocreAtBest » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:25 pm

I think you might be studying too much. 25 hours is a ton, and I don't think that it's efficient at that point, you can get more done in under 20 hours. I studied between 12-18 hours depending on how the week was going and I'm shooting for 173+ on my June test.

Take a few days off, get your mind right, and develop a more streamlined study plan, there are a ton of resources on here you can use. You're gonna crash and burn if you keep studying so much especially this early in the process, that's my opinion. Less is more sometimes.

Platopus

Gold

Post by Platopus » Tue Jun 13, 2017 10:31 pm