151 LSAT --> Biglaw: some hope for those who are down Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Onetimer

New

151 LSAT --> Biglaw: some hope for those who are down

Post by Onetimer » Mon May 22, 2017 11:40 pm

I remember spending many hours in this forum when I was studying for the LSAT. I want to provide a "success" story for those who didn't nail the LSAT the first time, or the second or the third. I put the "success" in quotes because my future is uncertain and success is relative, but for some my story may be encouraging.

I started studying for the LSAT 9 years ago in the summer going into my senior year of college. I did the Kaplan course. My diagnostic was 147, which was disheartening. By the end of the class, my test scores were up to 160. I took the LSAT my senior year for the first time and scored a 151. I had a panic attack, had to leave the test room just so I could calm myself down. It was a disaster. I took it a second time later in my senior year. Scored a 156. Again, huge disappointment. I applied to law school with an undergrad in the social sciences/humanities. I was rejected nearly everywhere. I couldn't even get into the part time programs of schools whose full-time programs I once considered "safety schools." This was a low point, one many people on this forum have shared. I got into one school. I would have needed to pay sticker to attend. Like many of you, I had once considered myself one of the bright ones.