Introducing myself and seeking advice Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
King of the North

Bronze

Introducing myself and seeking advice

Post by King of the North » Wed May 17, 2017 6:32 pm

Hello all,

Today will be my very first day of studying for the LSAT. I took the June 2007 test last night and got a 153. Trying to get some feedback, advice, etc. And of course, wanting to introduce myself.

I live in Tennessee and work at a law firm here as a lobbyist. I'll have been at the job for one year on June 1. Graduated from college in 2015. I majored in English, with a concentration in writing, and minored in political science. My ugpa was a 3.5.

I'm shooting for Vanderbilt Law School, though I'd certainly go to a better school if I was accepted and offered scholarships. I'm planning on taking the LSAT this December and am trying to make sure I properly prepare for the test. From what I've read/seen, a 166 or above would be good enough to get into Vanderbilt. What do you guys think? Any questions you have for me that will help you better assess my situation? And advice for studying right off the bat? I work full time 8-5 M-F. My plan is to study a minimum of 3 hours each weekday and a minimum of 8 hours on Saturday and 8 on Sunday as well.

Thanks for the help.

maybeman

Bronze

Re: Introducing myself and seeking advice

Post by maybeman » Wed May 17, 2017 6:42 pm

The best study tools are 7Sage, The LSAT Trainer, and the Powerscore Bibles for LR and LG. I recommend starting with 7Sage. If you prefer reading as opposed to watching video explanations, then PS will be better. No other advice at this point because it's so early in your prep except you should shoot higher than 166. Your diagnostic isn't phenomenal, but it's good, and tons of (hard working) people have scored in the high 170's starting where you are. Good luck!

Platopus

Gold

Post by Platopus » Wed May 17, 2017 6:50 pm

Welcome!