Am I doing the right things? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
ggmu1992

New

Am I doing the right things?

Post by ggmu1992 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:45 pm

Just decided to retake for a third time. 167 and 169 first two times, even though I was PTing about 170-174.
Obvs, shooting as high as I can go.

I'll tell you my tendencies/history, then my plan, then you can tell me if I've got the right Idea?

History

The December LSAT: -5 LR, -4 LG, -4 RC

During practice tests, I routinely get 0, -1, or -2 on LR and RC, but always bank on -2 to -4 on Logic Games. I've never done a perfect logic games section, except maybe once (timed, at least. The time constraint is my issue--i get stuck sometimes).

First time I studied, I used Power Score books, and then just took practice tests. Didn't learn about the concept of "drilling" until recently (I thought re-taking Logic games sections seemed useless, but I'm going to trust people's advice on here that it is a skill that benefits from repetition).

Study Plan

Since LG is my weakness, and people say it should be perfect, I'm going to do this:

Assuming I study 5 days a week: 3 days drilling LG, 1 day doing practice sections of LR/RC (just to stay in the groove with those, maybe improve a bit).

I'm going to do that for a bout a month (now to mid-may), and then the month before the test (mid-may to mid-june), I'll throw a couple practice tests per week into that (or, whenever I get LG perfect, Ill start PTing).

Is there anything else I should add to this? I've lurked a lot around the admissions side of this forum, but not a ton around the LSAT prep (I didn't find TLS till after applying), so I could be missing conventional wisdom.

...sorry for all those parentheticals

Platopus

Gold

Re: Am I doing the right things?

Post by Platopus » Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:33 pm