5 months to 172 Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Hotlinebling1024

New

5 months to 172

Post by Hotlinebling1024 » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:16 pm

Hello all,

Many of us are starting to think these threads are cursed- myself included. I have decided to post my own journey, in hopes of not going MIA as the previous posters have.

Background: I graduated last May. I was planning on going the k-JD route, but life got in the way and I wasn't able to devote the proper amount of time to the LSAT during undergrad. I wanted to take the October LSAT, but I wasn't reaching 170 on my PTs. Like many others, I'm frustrated that reaching my goal score will take much longer than 3 months. However, I'm not sitting for the exam until I reach this goal.

Stats: 3.8 LSAC GPA, URM. My dream school is Harvard, but I'd be content going to UT or any T14 on scholarship. I'm hoping to apply as soon as apps open up next fall.

Prep materials: I have an online account with 7Sage and have finished the entire curriculum. I will go back and revisit videos as needed. For those of you who can't afford $2000 classes, I highly recommend 7Sage. JY is extremely funny and will keep you entertained during the dense lessons. The best part, however, is the community. 7Sagers are simply the most friendly and helpful people around. We all want to see each other succeed. I also have a copy of The LSAT Trainer by Mike Kim. I skipped over the Logic Games section (already have a solid LG score, thanks to JY's Fool Proof Method), but the flaw section was brilliant. I will return to the LR and RC sections in The Trainer as needed.

Game Plan: I'm taking 2 PTs a week these next few months. In March, I'll ramp it up to 3 PTs a week. I'm going to blind review and drill my weaknesses on non-PT days. I'm PTing at 162-165 as of now. RC is literally murdering my score (-5 to -8). LR is usually -5 to -8 per test. LG is -0 to -4.