Potential for Improvement on the LSAT Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
ccmonson

New

Potential for Improvement on the LSAT

Post by ccmonson » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:25 pm

I have yet to take a practice test even for the LSAT, and don't plan on taking the actual test for about 18 more months. But I was just wondering how possible it is, with dedicated studying, to improve your score on the LSAT. From the few practice questions I've attempted, my problem definitely seems to be timing rather than accuracy. Is there anyone who has dramatically increased their score through practice? And if so, was it self-taught with books and online practice tests, or did you take a class?

Derrex

New

Re: Potential for Improvement on the LSAT

Post by Derrex » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:30 pm

I improved from around 167 untimed to 176 on the real thing in about a year. No classes, just official PTs. Just keep doing them, get use to their wording. The initial problems I had were with the wording of LSAT questions in all its convoluted glory. Start with the old tests and work towards newer ones. Take breaks from studying, this stuff doesn't leave you. This is a learnable test, but your final score will be determined by how much you learn and what your full potential is.

bees

Bronze

Post by bees » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:33 pm

Since you have a year and a half. Read one book (not Twilight, something with decently long words) per week (or more, if you'd like) and you will ace reading comp.

And I went up 18 pts. If I could do it, so can you.

pattymac

Bronze

Post by pattymac » Sat Jan 16, 2010 6:34 pm

First, don't let anyone convince you that you cannot improve your score; I've heard this a lot too (most people don't score higher than their diagnostic) and nothing could be further from the truth. If you read this board as much as I do, you'll find stories of people going from the 140's to the 160's or even low 170's.