Law School Admission. Work Experience Vs. No Work experience Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)

Did you work before Law School or Go straight after College?

Total votes: 0

Mighty

New

Law School Admission. Work Experience Vs. No Work experience

Post by Mighty » Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:32 am

New to the board. I've been considering Law school on/off for about 2 years. I just completed my first internship over the summer,and I was asked back to work again with the same company next summer.
A little info, and then I'll ask my question.
Year: Junior
Major: Double Major-Music Industry (B.A) and Finance (B.S)
Internship/Field Concentration-Entertainment Industry-Club Industry
Job (Internship):Booking Department/Talent Buyer.

I am strongly considering graduate school...I am between doing an MBA which I would be concentrating in Media studies-however, I'm a afraid that might be too much on the same path with what I'm doing with my Undergraduate studies. If I go into a Law program I want to do Business Law-since I really have an interest in it being both Business and Law oriented.

My main question is-How much weight does work experience have in Law School Admissions?
I know work experience is usually preferred for most MBA admissions.

Also-From personal perspective/experience from people here-What is recommended? To work for a few years and go back to Graduate school later...or go right after College/get it over with?

My main career goal is to own my own club/chain of clubs-really focused in the club industry/live entertainment industry. A Law degree is not "required" but I think it would be extremely helpful in the Entertainment field since half of my work in the club industry is dealing with contracts.

Any advice or insight from anyone here-would be great. Thanks!

badfish

Silver

Re: Law School Admission. Work Experience Vs. No Work experience

Post by badfish » Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:57 am