Graduating early from undergrad? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
abelo

New

Graduating early from undergrad?

Post by abelo » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:29 am

I'm a current university sophomore and I could conceivably graduate in July of 2019—my only worry about following through with this is that my law school applications would be damaged by my age / perceived immaturity. Does work experience / age really play that large of a factor in how one's application is judged? Is it worth spending another year in undergrad and waiting until 2020 to graduate?

edit: For clarity, I would be 19 when submitting applications and 20 when L1 classes started.

vwhorley

New

Re: Graduating early from undergrad?

Post by vwhorley » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:36 am

abelo wrote:I'm a current university sophomore and I could conceivably graduate in July of 2019—my only worry about following through with this is that my law school applications would be damaged by my age / perceived immaturity. Does work experience / age really play that large of a factor in how one's application is judged? Is it worth spending another year in undergrad and waiting until 2020 to graduate?

edit: I would be 19 when submitting applications and 20 when L1 classes started.
It's illegal for schools to consider age in their applications. That said, as someone who graduated a month after they turned 20- I highly suggest taking a year or two off just to round out your application.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Post by CanadianWolf » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:39 am

Be sure that the law schools to which you are applying understand that you will be graduating early by taking summer courses. Do not assume that law school adcomms will understand this unless it is clearly pointed out on your applications.

Law schools care most about 1) undergraduate degree 2) LSAT score 3) applicant's undergraduate GPA. Age & maturity become issues only if raised by your recommenders or by repeated disciplinary/arrest issues.

abelo

New