Another "Should I go to law school?" Thread Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Llewellyon

New

Another "Should I go to law school?" Thread

Post by Llewellyon » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:02 pm

I am looking to get into human rights law eventually at a big organization like Human Rights Coalition or Human Rights Watch. I was a Naval officer for 5 years out of college, so I have the GI Bill to pay for pretty much any school I get into, thus my paycheck is not a concern. I have a 3.9X undergrad GPA and am taking the LSAT this month, so assuming I do well, I am hoping I can get into NYU or Georgetown at least. I guess my biggest concern is that I go through all the trouble of law school to find that I can't get the job I want, or even worse that I turn out to not like it? Any suggestions on law school or what to do if I get in to maximize my job opportunities?

Nebby

Diamond

Re: Another "Should I go to law school?" Thread

Post by Nebby » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:55 pm

You'll need to attend a T6 to make this a realistic possibility and you'll have to hustle and market yourself well. Even then, you still might come up empty. It's one of the most niche fields and therefore opportunities are scant.

mcmand

Silver

Post by mcmand » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:38 pm

Maybe explore New York T6 schools (Columbia and NYU)? This is pure anecdote, but a friend of mine who graduated from Columbia (transferred there after 1L) seemed to do OK landing good human rights-related internship opportunities while in law school, and she's in BigLaw presently.

Good luck.
Last edited by mcmand on Fri Jan 26, 2018 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Slytherpuff

Platinum

Post by Slytherpuff » Wed Sep 13, 2017 10:59 am