Mental health diagnosis Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
YinFireHare

New

Mental health diagnosis

Post by YinFireHare » Tue Aug 01, 2017 5:14 pm

I was diagnosed this week with Bipolar disorder.

Right now, I'm on medications and feeling honestly good/stable. The idea of being a lawyer scares me but at the same time, I feel like it would be rewarding for me to represent clients - the good days and the bad ones. Does anyone have advise for me to consider? I'm studying for the December LSAT and I want to get into a top school and do well.

Provided I maintain balance and go to my doctor/therapist appointments through law school and career afterwards, I should be OK right?

TheBlueDevil

New

Re: Mental health diagnosis

Post by TheBlueDevil » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:17 pm

YinFireHare wrote:I was diagnosed this week with Bipolar disorder.

Right now, I'm on medications and feeling honestly good/stable. The idea of being a lawyer scares me but at the same time, I feel like it would be rewarding for me to represent clients - the good days and the bad ones. Does anyone have advise for me to consider? I'm studying for the December LSAT and I want to get into a top school and do well.

Provided I maintain balance and go to my doctor/therapist appointments through law school and career afterwards, I should be OK right?
Well, on one hand, there are a lot of law students and lawyers with mental health issues, so you certainly won't be alone. On the other hand, law school and legal practice seem to be rather bad for mental health, so going into it with preexisting issues may be... difficult.

In any event, this is a personal decision that you should make with the advice of your doctor.

MKC

Diamond

Post by MKC » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:24 pm

TheBlueDevil wrote: