Quite late to the party, let's chat Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Timetraveling

New

Quite late to the party, let's chat

Post by Timetraveling » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:06 pm

Hi all.

I'm a rising senior at a large state school in the SE US. I have a 3.55 right now, and pretty strong extracurriculars (below). I convinced myself I shouldn't go to law school when I was a sophomore so I've been doing a pre-medical track since then. I'm tired of striving for constant perfection and feel like I was naturally suited for law to begin with, so I think I'm going to apply to law school instead. To avoid the roast I presume I am about to receive: YES!--I have put a lot of thought into this decision!

ECs
Hospital volunteer, two years
Eagle Scout
Senate + House (district offices) internships
Trail maintenance crew
Honors while in college
2 years in my University's federal relations office

Currently, my biggest questions are 1) what can I be doing to prepare my application, 2) when would I ideally matriculate, 3) what can I do to strengthen my application?

Thanks all! Sorry for the block of text
Last edited by Timetraveling on Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cavalier1138

Re: Quite late to the party, let's chat

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:11 pm

1. Take some time off school to work.
2. Take some time off school to figure out what you actually want to do.
3. Come back when you have an LSAT score.

Timetraveling

New

Post by Timetraveling » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:14 pm

cavalier1138 wrote:1. Take some time off school to work.
Hey thanks for your reply. 1 and 2 are self-explanatory, but you can help me with number 3. If I want to matriculate in the fall semester (whenever), what timeframe is best to synchronize everything?

Platopus

Gold

Post by Platopus » Tue Jul 25, 2017 10:02 pm

Last edited by Platopus on Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Slippin' Jimmy

Silver