Reporting grades for unfinished degrees? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Llewellyon

New

Reporting grades for unfinished degrees?

Post by Llewellyon » Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:05 pm

I'm applying in the upcoming cycle, and had a question about reporting grades in my applications. In short, I completed my undergraduate degrees in mechanical engineering and physics in 2012 with a GPA of about 3.95. Afterwards, I join the Navy for 5 years, during which time I took some classes for a masters in nuclear engineering. Unfortunately, my GPA for these classes is not as spectacular. While I don't have the numbers in front of me right now, I was doing fairly well (mostly A's) until this past spring when I failed both classes I was taking due to a combination of anxiety issues, stress from work, and (to a degree) apathy. Although these were the last two classes I needed for my degree, I have no intentions of going back to complete them as I really want nothing to do with engineering for the rest of my life if I can help it. My question is though, do I have to report these grades along side my undergraduate grades? Further, I don't think I'll be able to get any letters of recommendation from my masters degree teachers, as all of my classes were distance education courses and I didn't really get to know any of the professors. Do you think law programs will require letters from these professors, since they were my most recent classes I've taken? I don't think my masters degree courses are really representative of my academic potential as I took them while working a 9-5 office job and never got to attend class in person, so I would hate to have them count against me.

cavalier1138

Re: Reporting grades for unfinished degrees?

Post by cavalier1138 » Sun Jul 23, 2017 2:13 pm