1L in a non-T14 Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
MrsV

New

1L in a non-T14

Post by MrsV » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:33 pm

It seems like "Your first year in law school is hard, really hard." is a universal truth. Is it still true for non T14 schools? I am sure it is still hard, but it's not Harvard. What are other people's experiences in non T14? Are they living in the library?

Also, to some degree I am sure it depends on the student right? I have my master's degree and I am used to not sleeping and using spring break as an opportunity to catch up on my thesis. So, maybe it won't be as hard since I have some experience being drilled?

floatie

Silver

Re: 1L in a non-T14

Post by floatie » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:38 pm

0L here so take this with a grain of salt, but 1) there are plenty of brilliant people at non-T14 schools and 2) Law school isn't going to be anything like grad school or undergrad so you can't use that as a measure of how well you'll do in law school (not to mention that everyone else around you did just as well, too)

Thomas Hagan, ESQ.

Silver

Post by Thomas Hagan, ESQ. » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:39 pm

Huh?

Pretty sure 1L will be a lot more stressful the further down the rankings you go since you have to fight to get to the top of the class to have a fighting chace at getting the job you want...

Schools like HLS isn't graded so I'm sure it's not as stressful as someone from (for example) Fordham, where you need to be in the top third of the class to go into Biglaw.

But then again I guess it depends on the student and his/her goals. If they went to Hofstra to become just a local solo pracitioner, then yes, I think he/she would have a much laid back experience in law school over someone going to Fordham and gunning for Biglaw.

guynourmin

Gold

Post by guynourmin » Fri Mar 10, 2017 3:42 pm