Law School -> DC -> FBI Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Future Ex-Engineer

Silver

Law School -> DC -> FBI

Post by Future Ex-Engineer » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:56 pm

So currently I work as an engineer for a DoD contractor (Electrical Engineering). I don't love what I'm doing, and don't see this being a very fulfilling career, as it is wayyyyy more machine/computer focused than people-focused. I don't get to work with people/for people, I mostly just spend time tinkering away on hardware/software problems. I've always wanted to work as an agent with the FBI, and I thought the engineering route would take me there (both from academic advisement, and reading officially published documents from them).

It looks like I was wrong - the Bureau claims they hire engineers and are actively seeking engineers for agent spots, but if you really dig into their application, it's pretty apparent that most typical career engineers don't have the vast majority of experience/skills they are asking for on their applications. Further, the way selection works is that you have to pass an initial 'points' screening in the application regarding skills/experience before they even will take a look at your application. Long story short, I don't think the current career path will get me where I want.

My current thoughts/plans are as follows:
Go to LS (T14, thinking either GULC, Mich, or UVA) -> work for a year or two in IP and make connections (preferably in DC) -> lateral into the Bureau and really dive into a career there.
I've spoken with a number of lawyers and adcomms during this cycle, and they have all been very positive/encouraging that this route would make me a very attractive candidate for the job I really want (having tech background w/ a JD).