Realistic or not? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Prospect24

New

Realistic or not?

Post by Prospect24 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 12:41 am

Trying to figure out if this is a realistic path or if I'm out of my mind. I've worked for an investment fund for two years working on primarily international investments. I'm about to start working for the state department. I'm thinking about doing this for a few years and then applying to law school. I'm primarily interested in international arbitration, international trade, and economic sanctions. Given the investment and diplomatic background I feel like this should be an easy sell.

Few questions:
1) Am I right to assume this prelaw experience will help placing I these areas of law or does it not really matter?
2) I graduated with an UGPA of 3.58 (4.0 in economics, mostly gen eds that pulled my gpa down). If I get >170 LSAT do I have a realistic shot at T14? Will softs like SG President and significant nonprofit experience help overcome the gpa?
3) Since I'll be in the D.C. area I'm considering Georgetown or GW at night until my final summer when I'd want to SA in the international arbitration group for a D.C. big law firm. Is this doable from these programs or should I just apply full time?

I think that's all the questions for now. I know these are kind of all over the place, but I'm trying to plan down the road. Thanks!

KMart

Gold

Re: Realistic or not?

Post by KMart » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:58 am

Prospect24 wrote:Trying to figure out if this is a realistic path or if I'm out of my mind. I've worked for an investment fund for two years working on primarily international investments. I'm about to start working for the state department. I'm thinking about doing this for a few years and then applying to law school. I'm primarily interested in international arbitration, international trade, and economic sanctions. Given the investment and diplomatic background I feel like this should be an easy sell.