MS vs PhD Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
frmerscientist440

New

MS vs PhD

Post by frmerscientist440 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 6:53 pm

Hello everyone! New poster/frequent lurker here...

I wanted to get some opinions on my current status. I'm in my second year of a life science PhD program at an Ivy. I've found that the overall impact/mission of the research is no longer interesting to me and I'd like to leave the program with an MS and apply to law school. My adviser has been overall supportive but continues to suggest that staying the additional 3 years and getting a PhD would be highly beneficial to a career in law as it would help if I wanted to go into IP law. Though I am somewhat interested in IP law, I have deeper interests in other practice areas so I don't see a PhD being worth the additional 3 years of boredom. Is my adviser right/would law schools+employers value a PhD far above a MS?

tl;dr
life science PhD student wanting to leave with MS for law school. How does this look to law school admissions offices/future employers in the legal field?

mudiverse

Bronze

Re: MS vs PhD

Post by mudiverse » Fri Jan 27, 2017 7:05 pm

I do not have the answer to your question, but speaking from a commonsense perspective it is rarely the right choice to burn 3 years doing something if you have no interest in it. If you are certain you will not be motivated by the material, you will drive yourself nuts staying in a phd program just for the qualification. Then again, I have to ask are you just in a slump right now? What was your original reason for starting the program and do you really want to go to law school or are you a victim of degree hunting syndrome?

This is an outside consideration but 3 years phd + 3 years J.D. is a long ass time and your age might be a consideration.

uhwrestler

Bronze

Post by uhwrestler » Fri Jan 27, 2017 8:11 pm

frmerscientist440 wrote:Hello everyone! New poster/frequent lurker here...