Traveling Before Law School? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ChicagoKid27

New

Traveling Before Law School?

Post by ChicagoKid27 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:56 pm

Ok, so I'm currently a junior in undergrad and have ambitions to go to law school. I'm extremely committed to the idea of attending law school so much so that I have great steps to improve my chances of being accepted into the top schools in the country. My GPA is okay (3.65), the only thing I can do to increase it is to study harder than I already am, which is what I am doing. Then there's the LSAT. I have heard from different sources that if you wish to develop greater analytical reasoning skills, which is what the LSAT measures, you should try studying a foreign language. So for the past 4 months I have been teaching myself Russian. In the process I have developed an interest in Russian culture and history. I came to the conclusion that I would like to one day visit Russian. I am currently making plans to stay in Russian for up to 10 months after I graduate from university. I would like to find a job teaching English to native Russian speakers. Russian is very lax in terms of teaching employment so I don't even need a certificate or anything to teach. My question is, how does this look to law schools? On one hand I think it shows interests and curiosity in other cultures which is something law schools may appreciate. On the other hand I could be spending that time working instead of traveling. Thoughts?

haley12

Silver

Re: Traveling Before Law School?

Post by haley12 » Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:39 pm