Is 30 Too Late for Law School? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Rjcollins

New

Is 30 Too Late for Law School?

Post by Rjcollins » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:06 am

Hello all. My name's Ryan, first-time poster long-time lurker.

Short Version:

I'm 26,coming up fast on 27. I just got my bach degree in Political Science (I know, I know). I graduated with very good grades, but I don't feel mentally or financially ready to start law school, nor have I studied for or taken the LSAT yet. My current plan is to wait until I'm 30 and apply then. Will I be too old then for T14 -> Biglaw to be a realistic option?

Long Version:

For a long time my goal has been to attend a T14 law school with the goal of going into biglaw when I graduate. I've considered working in immigration law if I don't get my JD with too much in the way of debt. I'm pretty well-read at this point on what that process would be like and what the practice of law actually entails. That being said, due to some changes in my personal life, I don't feel mentally ready to take on the emotional and financial commitment of law school.

Part of this is because my wife, who put me through undergrad, wants to start college and she utterly loathes her job, so I really don't want her to have to put moving forward on hold for me. The other part is that during college I've discovered a passion for writing fiction, something which I've already had some (very moderate) success at and would like to pursue it further, which I feel would be difficult with the amount of dedication that is required to succeed in an elite law school and a big law firm.

My current plan is to try the whole "starving artist" thing while my wife does her UG degree, and then reevaluate law school in 3-4 years. There are, however, a few factors that are giving me pause.