What type of laptop are you going to use for law school? Forum

(housing, friendships, future exams, all things 2018)

What laptop will you use for 1L?

MacBook Air
31%
MacBook Pro
44%
Lenovo Yoga
5%
Lenovo Flex
2%
Dell XPS
7%
Asus Zenbook
3%
Toshiba Chromebook
2%
Surface Pro
5%
Samsung ATIV
0%

Total votes: 405

pylon

Silver

What type of laptop are you going to use for law school?

Post by pylon » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:18 am

Interested to hear what people are planning on using for 1L. Will you keep the laptop you have? Will you purchase a new one? Windows or Mac?

Also I don't know much about computers, so the options in the poll are just from a basic search. If I'm missing some obvious ones, let me know.
Last edited by pylon on Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

taptaptop

Bronze

Re: What type of laptop are you going to use for law school?

Post by taptaptop » Mon Mar 30, 2015 5:42 am

I've been using my Macbook Air for about 2 years, it works great for me. But the storage room is only 64GB, I have to be really careful on what I decided to put in it. Therefore I decide to get a new Macbook Pro Retina. You can buy a 128GB one, which is relatively cheaper, and then buy transcend jetdrive lite (70~ bucks) to get your storage room up to 256GB.

middlebear

Silver

Post by middlebear » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:04 am

I've had a Mac for the past couple years but am probably going back to PC - we just had so much more Office capability on our office PCs than I can really imagine getting on this thing (though I'd love to hear opinions on this). I'm actually thinking maybe a Samsung; they're just as pricey as a Mac, unfortunately, but I really want that aluminum unibody construction b/c I am rough on my electronics.

Gray

Platinum

Post by Gray » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:08 am

pylon

Silver

Post by pylon » Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:10 am

WOOPS! I added Samsung to the poll and it deleted all the responses... That was foolish, sorry everyone!

Want to continue reading?