Paris Assas or Sciences-Po Forum

This forum is designed to assist those who are looking at law schools outside the US. Please use this forum for these kinds of discussions.
bhowton

New

Paris Assas or Sciences-Po

Post by bhowton » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:16 pm

Anyone with experience have any thoughts on these schools. Plenty of programs in the US have partnerships with one or another, or both, but I have little practical knowledge of which program might translate into the best practice. Write if you have any information.

Hand

Gold

Re: Paris Assas or Sciences-Po

Post by Hand » Wed Jan 28, 2015 12:30 pm

if you are considering doing a program such as the master in economic law at sciences po, be prepared to face opposition when you try to convince your state bar that you completed a first degree in law in france and are thus eligible to sit for the bar (because these type of degrees are technically not a first degree in law)

parisian

New

Post by parisian » Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:08 pm

I am at Sciences Po, not in the law program though. If you consider to work in Paris, I heard Assas alumni dominate here, as Sc Po's Economic Law program is relatively new. But Sc Po is a good school and I am sure if you do well, you will still be up for great career opportunities.

cesar84

New

Post by cesar84 » Wed Feb 18, 2015 5:06 am

[post removed]
Last edited by cesar84 on Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bhowton

New

Post by bhowton » Wed Feb 18, 2015 6:41 am

Thank you for all of your comments. I am aware of several T14 schools that have partnerships in Paris. Columbia and Cornell both have a 2 yr/2 yr program with Paris-Sorbonne (I may be wrong but I've been associating this program with Paris Assas). It's a JD/Master en droit combo. Duke has something similar but with a semester at Assas. All three programs boast theirs enable students to sit for the Paris bar.