Employment in the US from Canada? Forum

This forum is designed to assist those who are looking at law schools outside the US. Please use this forum for these kinds of discussions.
njdevils2626

Silver

Employment in the US from Canada?

Post by njdevils2626 » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:32 pm

I am a K-JD Canadian student who has lived his entire life in Montreal, Quebec and is looking to branch out for law school. I have always wanted to work in the US and would like to at least leave that door open, however I have nothing against further Canadian exploration and living here for a while. I have applied almost exclusively to American schools, in large part due to this preference but also simply because they weight the LSAT much higher in comparison to GPA than do Canadian schools and as a super splitter I needed all the help I can get.

I applied to the University of British Columbia as I've always been interested in moving out West, and would strongly consider attending as it is a great Canadian university that can provide a fantastic education and it is quite difficult to turn down the option of going to law school for $10K full tuition. I was wondering, if I do indeed decide to attend UBC, how this would affect my employment options in the US coming from a Canadian institution. I have no problems working in Canada, but would like to leave my doors open to the US. Does anyone know of placement stats in the US coming from a Canadian law school (UBC in particular)? Is it even a possibility? Any information could be extremely helpful as there simply isn't a large community for Canadian law schools the way it has developed here for the US.

Thank you

njdevils2626

Silver

Re: Employment in the US from Canada?

Post by njdevils2626 » Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:15 pm

Nobody has any info at all? :(

banjo

Silver

Post by banjo » Sat Apr 26, 2014 2:50 am

You might have better luck on lawstudents.ca.