Character and Fitness Stuff Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Empedocles1

New

Character and Fitness Stuff

Post by Empedocles1 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:07 pm

3L here.

Prepping for my bar exam and I'm sure all of you who have been here are stressed as well. I'm an older student (late 30s) and so I have more life trauma to document than most, but I've mostly got this under control. But, here's my question to start a discussion:

Recently my mom passed away and while going through her stuff, I found a seat belt ticket issued to me in 2001. So I added it to my law school file with no big issue. But then it made me think, I should personally check every single item on the application so that nothing would be missed or left to chance. So far, so good.

Today I got to the question about debt and student loans. I ran my credit report and all is good there. Other than student loans, I only have $1800 in credit card debt I am paying down at 0% APR, so still all good. Finally, I still received my financial aid this semester from my school, so other than just knowing I've always made my payments, obviously I'm in good standing with student loans.

So, two questions:

1. How can I confirm this officially? And
2. How do bar examiners check on student loan defaults?

Thanks in advance.

Shicoco

New

Re: Character and Fitness Stuff

Post by Shicoco » Sun Feb 24, 2019 7:36 pm

1. Call the police that issued the citation, ask them if they have any records.
2. Credit check.

b290

Bronze

Post by b290 » Wed Mar 06, 2019 11:32 pm