C&F Employment History Question Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
qkqhdi02

New

C&F Employment History Question

Post by qkqhdi02 » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:10 pm

I'm thinking a bit ahead since i'm planning to apply to law school next year, but just wanted to make sure every job/internship I list on my app will not affect me negatively later.

So, although I graduated from a US college, all of my internships during that time (three non-legal) have been from abroad in my home country. The thing is, the supervisors from each don't speak any English (or maybe extremely limited). I'm sure they remember me so i'm not worried about that but I was wondering how the C&F committee contacts them for verification? I think if they receive a random email or a call asking in Enlgish whether they remember me working there, they'll either just hang up or ignore. I mean wouldn't you just hang up if you receive a call from an unknown number in a completely different language? Any advice here?

Also, after graduation, I came back to my home country to start my own small business with my brother. How does the C&F committee verify self-employment in a foreign country?

I'm going to mention all of my internships and my business on my application since they represent who I am and are with no doubt accurate information but what if the C&F committee can't verify them later due to the aforementioned circumstances?

albanach

Gold

Re: C&F Employment History Question

Post by albanach » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:37 am