Failed CA Bar Exam, planning on taking MN exam (UBE) in February. How does it compare? Should I take a prep course? Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
cheskama

New

Failed CA Bar Exam, planning on taking MN exam (UBE) in February. How does it compare? Should I take a prep course?

Post by cheskama » Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:12 am

I have a job where I will be practicing federally, so I just need to be admitted in a state. Any state. I only have one more chance to pass the bar, or my job offer will be revoked. I am scared to take the CA bar again because I studied my ass off and didn't pass, so I am planning to take it in a state with a higher pass rate. In hindsight I should have taken it in an easier state to begin with but I thought I might want to practice in CA in the future. At this point though, keeping my job offer is more important, so I want to increase my odds as much as possible.
I am currently in the process of applying to sit for the Minnesota bar. How does the UBE compare to the CA Bar Exam? I took Themis for the CA bar, and thought it was good, even though it obviously didn't work for me. Should I just use the material I have since MBE and MPT are the same and get supplemental materials for the UBE, or is it worth it to shell out another ~$2k to get UBE specific prep course? Thanks in advance.

longwait

New

Re: Failed CA Bar Exam, planning on taking MN exam (UBE) in February. How does it compare? Should I take a prep course?

Post by longwait » Mon Nov 19, 2018 2:37 am

I did both UBE and California.