Experiences of people who took the bar exam years after graduation? Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Bodhicaryavatara

Bronze

Experiences of people who took the bar exam years after graduation?

Post by Bodhicaryavatara » Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:50 pm

My situation: I'm a 2017 JD grad, but for a variety of reasons, I have not been able to sit for the bar exam yet. I hope to eventually take the UBE in NJ. I had registered for the bar this year (and was even approved for ADA accommodations) and was eligible to take it but sat out because I was doing very poorly in Themis and could not devote the necessary time and energy to it mainly on account of my full-time job. I have been clerking for a judge since August 2017 and will continue to do so until August 2019. From August 2019 to May 2021, I will be enrolled in a graduate program, so the earliest I can conceivably take the exam is July 2020.

Has anyone else taken the bar exam years after graduation? I'll be three years removed from law school at that point and nearly 8 years removed from the "core" 1L courses covered heavily on the bar exam (property, torts, contracts, civ pro, crim, etc.) For those of you in my boat, did it feel like essentially learning the concepts for the first time? Was your study strategy/approach any different than traditional bar takers who tackle the exam the summer after 3L? Did you pass on the first attempt?

FinallyPassedTheBar

Bronze

Re: Experiences of people who took the bar exam years after graduation?

Post by FinallyPassedTheBar » Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:13 pm