CA Bar Retakers Strategy Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Happy88

New

CA Bar Retakers Strategy

Post by Happy88 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:14 am

I just took the July 18 exam and I’m 99.9% sure I failed it. I’m a foreign practicing lawyer and English is not my first language. I have never studied US laws, so studying for the bar itself was a huge breakdown/accomplishment for me.

Now I think I have a better idea on how to study each topic and where I’m weak at. My question is, should I just skip Barbri lectures this time around? And just stick to the “personal study plan” on Barbri and the mini review, magic sheets and AdaptiBar?

Nightcrawler

Bronze

Re: CA Bar Retakers Strategy

Post by Nightcrawler » Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:36 am

Foreign 4th time taker here. Personally, I preferred ditching barbri entirely and just using adaptibar for the MBE, and smart bar prep for essays.

Nightcrawler

Bronze

Post by Nightcrawler » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:27 pm

EDIT:

Also critical pass flashcards helped a lot in the beginning together with barbri's lectures (just to understand the law). However, the latter is time consuming and if I could go back I would just rely on SmartBarPrep's outlines and the big Barbri's books if you don't understand certain rules. Those books help also if you get questions wrong on Adaptibar and you don't understand why. All these supplements are pretty cheap compared to Barbri's tuition cost.

Happy88

New

Post by Happy88 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:02 pm

Nightcrawler wrote:EDIT: