Bar Review recommendation for foreign students? Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
sg.cambs

New

Bar Review recommendation for foreign students?

Post by sg.cambs » Wed May 16, 2018 10:54 pm

Hi,

I realise this has been fleshed out multiple times on this board but can't find any recommendations that are too similar to my circumstances. I'm trying to decide between bar review courses - I am a foreign student, graduated with a first from Oxbridge and then did an LLM in Asia. I'm looking to sit the NY bar in feb 2019, studying part time while working and taking some time off a few weeks before the exam to focus.

I have no US law background and I'm trying to decide between these two options:
1) BARBRI international course (USD 6000)
2) Themis LLM course (USD 2495) + Adaptibar (USD 395) + can borrow a friends BARBRI books from July 2016.

From what I can tell, its quite personal as to which provider you like. I prefer the sound of shorter lectures with Themis, but heard that the interface is not as great and its potentially not as content-rich (not sure if thats relevant). Either way I am self-studying and need to motivate myself so BARBRI having in-person lectures in the US is not relevant. I'm Singapore-based and BARBRI is the course with an office based in Asia, so theres potential for more customer support from them. My employer is looking to fund part of the course (potentially all) and cost is not a hugely significant factor, though I don't want to spend an extra 3000 on BARBRI for no reason.