Mental Fatigue Strategies Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
ChiliBowlWonder

New

Mental Fatigue Strategies

Post by ChiliBowlWonder » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:33 pm

I am a non traditional bar taker and full time employee in a related field. My prep will look different than many but the physical toll will be similar. I am studying 30+ hours a week at this point in addition to working 50+ hours. It is mid April and this is already a physical toll issue. I know I am preaching to the choir here.

My question is about strategies to minimize physical toll, mental stress and energy. Late nights are issues like 1L but taking the right approach is crucial to not burn out. Can some share their tips on this?

Some key items from previous experience and notes such as: https://lifehacker.com/how-to-pull-an-e ... 1569813126

- take naps where you can (weekend for me)
- minimize caffeine
- no alcohol
- exercise in spurts
- protein snacks, not carbs
- stand as much as possible
- use a lot of light in studying environments

NOTE: I am not looking for feedback on my study schedule. I am looking for discussion on health, stress management and study practices related to keep on trucking!

not guilty

Bronze

Re: Mental Fatigue Strategies

Post by not guilty » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:57 pm

Agreed about naps, but easier said than done. I agree on all points. Working + bar exam is up there with waterboarding.

b290

Bronze

Post by b290 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 4:17 pm