Do you need a B.S. in STEM instead of B.A. for patent law Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
tqi3

New

Do you need a B.S. in STEM instead of B.A. for patent law

Post by tqi3 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:03 pm

I long for being a patent lawyer and I am an undergraduate pursuing a comp sci degree. I could graduate with a B.A. degree in comp sci instead of a B.S degree in the same major and it kinda matters as in the time I graduate. Can I go for prosecution with a B.A. in STEM ? (I understand that a STEM degree is necessary.) And if I could, will a B.S. degree be better anyways as in L2 internship and further professional requirements/ability after I start to work?
Thank you

sparkytrainer

Silver

Re: Do you need a B.S. in STEM instead of B.A. for patent law

Post by sparkytrainer » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:10 pm

You need more than just a BS (and yes you need a BS). You need a MA and a PHD generally.

pfunkera

Bronze

Post by pfunkera » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:37 pm

sparkytrainer wrote:You need more than just a BS (and yes you need a BS). You need a MA and a PHD generally.
the above statement is 100% false

See explanation starting on page 6

https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/fil ... ED_GRB.pdf

pfunkera

Bronze

Post by pfunkera » Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:42 pm