Foreign attorney taking the bar - advice much needed Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
barinthefuture

New

Foreign attorney taking the bar - advice much needed

Post by barinthefuture » Wed Feb 28, 2018 12:32 pm

Hello everyone,

I am a foreign attorney (Europe) and I need to take the bar exam in the US. I passed the bar in my country and practiced for several years there, but it was not a common law system. For that reason, I need to start literally from the very beginning. I am fully committed and plan to take the bar next winter - it means 11 months of intense studying. I am thinking 5 hrs every day, probably less during the weekends.

I've read a lot about MBE questions, BarBri courses, essay templates books, etc. but unfortunately what I need right now is super-basic. Of course, most of the institutions are well-known to me, since law is generally not that different, so I hope it will make some difference and studying process won't be super painful :) (I mean of course it will be painful, its the bar after all ;/ )

I would really appreciate your advice on the best books I could possibly find. I did some research using topics for law students:
Con Law - Chemerinsky
Torts - Glannon
Property - Sprankling
Criminal Law - Dressler
Civil Procedure - Freer
Contracts - Chirelstein

I've read a lot of good reviews about Lexis Nexis Q&A series. I suppose I also need to get some case briefs books? Dunno what books to use for the essay part (I mean the state law - I need to decide between Texas and California).