Barmax: Product review Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."

New

Barmax: Product review

Post by avatarz » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:06 pm

I’m providing this review because when I was looking into bar review programs, I couldn’t find all that much written about BarMax. Let me know if you have any questions and I’ll try to answer them and incorporate them into the review.

About me: I’m an evening law student at what was a T20 law school in the top 10% of my class. I worked through all of school and all but one week of bar study. I thankfully passed the July 2017 DC bar – ****edit ***** I recieved my score and it was a scaled MBE score of 162.7 and written score of 151.3.

I. tl;dr review

Barmax is an affordable bar review program with potential as well as many trade offs. If you are self-driven and want to save money, it is a reasonable path to take.

II. Lectures

This is the core of what you buy in a program like BarMax instead of just one of those MBE question banks. The CivPro lecture (the free one) is deceptively good. The rest of the lectures fluctuate in quality. A number of them are by Mehran Ebadolahi (BarMax’s founder) rather than an actual law professor. Also, (when I took it) some of the lectures are old (e.g. one mentioned that gay marriage wasn’t yet the law). BarMax updated the outlines during the July 2017 bar exam with new information but that information was not reflected in the lectures. A few of the lectures deviated substantially from the outline or repeated themselves a number of times.