Second Bar Exam Question Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Mobster1983

New

Second Bar Exam Question

Post by Mobster1983 » Sun Sep 17, 2017 11:51 pm

I graduated this past spring and currently work as a law clerk in a state with no reciprocity with any other. While I love it here and plan to stay, I also want to leave some options open, so plan to take a second bar exam in February (while everything from law school and this first bar exam are fresh in my mind). I want to take the bar in a state that has reciprocity with a large number of other states, which will provide me with the most options in the future, just in case I do move.

Right now I am leaning heavily towards New York. They have reciprocity with numerous other states. I am also interested in international business law, and New York Bar seems like it would be a decent add-on to my resume if I ever apply overseas (at least compared to my current state).

Any thoughts on this? One concern I have is that I actually have to practice law in NY for a certain amount of years (usually seems like 5) to be admitted in another state without taking their bar. Is this the case, or is holding an active license good enough to meet that requirement?

Thank you in advance for your advice/opinions.

hockeyman969

Bronze

Re: Second Bar Exam Question

Post by hockeyman969 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:36 am