Foreign educated, passed NY F2017. This is what I did Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Aavni

New

Foreign educated, passed NY F2017. This is what I did

Post by Aavni » Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:47 am

Hey everyone. First, congrats to those who passed and good luck to those who will retake - you will make it.

I am an Israeli law school graduate who passed the Israeli bar exam and moved on to take the NY bar exam. Israel is a common law jurisdiction and I did not need an LLM.

I took Kaplan's regular, non-LLM online course. Paid $1300 for it, and used no other supplements. I started with a practice exam before learning anything and got 110 questions right, which is pretty good and probably was helped by having a common law background. I am not a native English speaker however, and was not familiar with many legal terms. My English is good though so this was not a serious issue once I completed the course.

I started 3 months before the exam but only picked up pace 2 months before. I wasn't working. I completed 100% of the course and answered about 1000 MBE questions. My midterm score was 130 unscaled, and final was 140. Kaplan said my real MBE will be 15-25 points higher. I completed the course something like 4 days before the exam and didn't really do their personalized program which you are supposed to do in the last two weeks. I also didn't write a lot of essays and would have put more effort in studying the MEE materials.