Bar program for foreign lawyer - NY Bar Exam Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Lottic

New

Bar program for foreign lawyer - NY Bar Exam

Post by Lottic » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:43 pm

Hi all,

Is there a recommended bar program for non-US law graduates?

I am a lawyer from Australia so English is not a problem and we are a common law jurisdiction.

I know there's an international Barbri course (£4500!!) and maybe another one or two out there but would there be any difference if i take non international programs like Themis, Adaptibar etc?

Would there be anything in the exams that the local bar programs don't cover but may be included in the international programs?

I am looking to take the NY bar exam in July 2017.

Any help appreciated! Thanks!

dollarsighs

New

Re: Bar program for foreign lawyer - NY Bar Exam

Post by dollarsighs » Mon Jan 09, 2017 2:17 am

I know a former Barbri student (passed first time) and a Barbri course facilitator. The latter passed his bar using Themis (before becoming a Barbri facilitator) and recommended Themis to me, a South African law grad, as being perfectly adequate. He advised me that Barbri is content overkill and too time-consuming, whereas Themis is a fraction of the cost, its lectures are on demand and repeatable and it's more streamlined overall. The progress tracking tool is also pretty handy for keeping you on track.