PATENT LAW: Yale MS BME vs Work Experience Forum

To help keep the main forum index page from getting too big, some forums have been placed in this "other forums" section.
Abme

New

PATENT LAW: Yale MS BME vs Work Experience

Post by Abme » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:12 am

Hey everyone! I am a recent grad from Harvey Mudd college with a BS in General Engineering and have a strong background in BME. I want to pursue a career in patent law and I'm trying to decide if I should pursue a MS in BME from Yale that is one year long and $60k OR try and find an engineering job hopefully in the medical device industry.

THANK YOU for any help/advice!!! I have to decide by July 20 :/

In case my background is helpful:
I am a URM (Gay, Latino, first-gen, low-income) and have a 3.33 GPA and graduated with Distinction and Honors and have 4 years of research experience where I have published internationally and have 2 years co-op experience with BD from a clinic project at my school where I am on a patent for a device I helped design/manufacture. I have never taken the LSAT but I scored well on the GRE: Q:167, V:158, W:5. I was also an RA and have over a dozen leadership/management/mentoring work experiences I did while at Mudd.

elendinel

Silver

Re: PATENT LAW: Yale MS BME vs Work Experience

Post by elendinel » Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:09 pm

Abme wrote:Hey everyone! I am a recent grad from Harvey Mudd college with a BS in General Engineering and have a strong background in BME. I want to pursue a career in patent law and I'm trying to decide if I should pursue a MS in BME from Yale that is one year long and $60k OR try and find an engineering job hopefully in the medical device industry.

THANK YOU for any help/advice!!! I have to decide by July 20 :/

In case my background is helpful: