Remote Legal Work Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
aso1994

New

Remote Legal Work

Post by aso1994 » Mon Apr 08, 2019 10:36 pm

I'm currently studying for the LSAT and thinking about where I want to go to school. My question is about remote work and the prospects for people coming out of law school. Is there a good market for that? Should school rank still weigh as heavily on my decision? Should it weigh heavier on my decision? What kind of jobs are there for remote working people? I've given what I'm concerned about, but any relevant advice is greatly appreciated.

-New Member of TLS

cavalier1138

Re: Remote Legal Work

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue Apr 09, 2019 5:54 am

It depends on what you mean by "remote work" and on what you're willing to do. But generally, no. Law is a client-facing industry.

If you want to work from home every day, then you probably can't practice law. Even in the most autonomous solo practice, you still need to have an office, meet with clients, go to court, etc. Outside of solo practice, you may find a firm/organization with lower face-time requirements, but that still generally requires you to be in the office more often than you're working from home.

But why do you want to be a lawyer? "I want to work remotely" is a weird way to open a discussion about career paths.

lawgirl3521

New

Post by lawgirl3521 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 12:00 pm

In my experience there is actually a ton of remote work available with legitimate firms that pay good salaries and benefits on both a permanent and contractual basis. The caveat is that you will need to be barred and have first practiced law in a traditional manner for about 2-3 years on average. After that, the market is wide open for remote work - and there are several studies indicating that recent trends in law are moving to a remote based model (will find the link to said studies to post).

cavalier1138