Looking for Advice from Health Law/Patent Law People for Gap Years Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
holinesj

New

Looking for Advice from Health Law/Patent Law People for Gap Years

Post by holinesj » Fri Mar 01, 2019 2:04 pm

I am looking for a bit of advice from someone who has gone into law with an undergraduate science background and took time off between undergraduate and law school. I will be graduating next year from a top 10 undergraduate school with degree in Biology and Philosophy. My GPA is a 3.85 and I realistically expect it to be a 3.85-3.9 upon graduation. I am currently studying for the LSAT and plan to take it this July. I have work experience with both biomedical laboratory research and health policy organizations.

I am interested in pursuing a career in health law or patent law, but I want to take a year or two off before applying and attending law school. But honestly, I am a bit lost in terms of what to do during that gap year. I feel irresponsible because I always planned on going to law school, and that caused me to neglect consideration of job prospects in gap years before law school. I am not realizing that gap years are hugely advantageous, but I didn't plan very well for what to do in my gap year. It seems like most bio research/industry jobs required an advanced degree, and most health jobs require a social sciences background or health administration background. I considered life sciences consulting, but they completed their intern hiring process last fall and I'm not sure about my prospects for being hired with no consulting/business experience next year. I am quite worried about all of this because a) I don't want my gap years to be useless and b) I actually want to make some money to help offset the debt of law school.