To sue or not to sue? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
jackdanielsga

New

To sue or not to sue?

Post by jackdanielsga » Mon Feb 25, 2019 7:48 pm

So I'm 90% decided to go to law school this fall, and I'm also 90% decided to focus on criminal prosecution. My background is in the IT infrastructure, I've done for nearly 20 years, so it'd be a huge career change for me.

I also had a car accident right before Christmas and my car got totaled. It's the other party's fault but I'm not entirely happy with the way their liability carrier is handling the settlement negotiations. In GA, the insurance commission is a mess and the law sucks - no direct right of action against the third party insurer due to lack of privity of contract, obviously. Instead I'd have to sue the other driver / owner and serve the insurance carrier as the non-party (if at all).

The amount that we disagree on is relatively small - around $1-2k, both lowball valuation and other fees that they don't want to pay. Obviously not enough to interest any lawyers. So I was thinking about taking it pro se to the magistrate court, possibly as 2 separate cases (injury + property damage) as a way to experience the court system from the plaintiff's position. I am mostly interested in the property damage part as the liability carrier has a very unusual position of flatly refusing to pay the mandatory tag, title, and tax fees that would not be required but for the actions of the tortfeasor, are necessary, and recovery of such necessary expenses are covered by OCGA 51-12-7 in the torts law. It adds up to only a few hundred dollars, but could make for an interesting day in court.