What is NYC biglaw REALLY like Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
qkqhdi02

New

What is NYC biglaw REALLY like

Post by qkqhdi02 » Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:09 pm

So I'm having serious second thoughts before applying to law school. I graduated from an Ivy League college with an above median GPA for most T14 schools and scored a 176 on the LSAT. I was more than ready to apply to law school but recently, I'm not really sure whether this is what I want to do. Although I don't mind repetitive jobs that keep me in an office, I'm more of a creative person who prefers to be in a casual environment. Like I'm a person with a tattoo on my wrist if that helps.

I've read so much stuff about how biglaw sucks the life out of you but what is the atmosphere really like? Specifically, is it really that hierarchical and conservative? And although I don't mind working long hours, how many hours say, per week, does an associate work? (I see numbers like 2500 hours thrown out there but I'm having difficulty translating for me to have an actual grasp of those billable hours)

Any comments by anyone who anything to say about working in biglaw (summer associates, associates, stories from friends etc.) would be greatly appreciated!

Yugihoe

Silver

Re: What is NYC biglaw REALLY like

Post by Yugihoe » Wed Jan 09, 2019 2:30 pm

No offense, but NYC big law is REALLY exactly like you've read in the hundreds of threads here and elsewhere on the internet. This thread won't give you any new insight. But to recap:

It's the type of job where there you never clock out or have a distinct personal life outside of "work hours". You're paid that big law salary to be on call 24-7 and will always be on standby, i.e. glancing at your phone every few mins even at night or weekends or at the bar or at dinner (the one true exception is if you have a valid reason to not be plugged in like vacation).