Undergraduate interested in tax law. What are some employment options? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
sleepingcat

New

Undergraduate interested in tax law. What are some employment options?

Post by sleepingcat » Mon Dec 31, 2018 5:50 am

Hello everyone!

I am an undergraduate highly interested in tax law but am just starting to learn about what happens after law school. It's a dizzying array of information! :mrgreen: I have a bunch of questions if any current tax lawyer or someone who knows would be so kind as to answer.

1. What sorts of opportunities in private practice are there for tax lawyers? Do they all work for large (i.e. BigLaw) firms or are there specialized tax boutiques too?
2. Are there any government exit opportunities, perhaps maybe with the IRS, SEC, DOJ, etc.? Or perhaps are there any government opportunities right out of law school?
3. Does a clerkship (in the tax court or elsewhere) help? Does a clerkship hurt?
4. Is an LLM in tax law indispensable to show you are interested in joining a firm's tax practice? Or can you generally "select" the practice you want to join?

I guess that's it. Apologies if these are newbie questions and your answers are much appreciated!

nealric

Re: Undergraduate interested in tax law. What are some employment options?

Post by nealric » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:34 am

sleepingcat wrote:Hello everyone!

I am an undergraduate highly interested in tax law but am just starting to learn about what happens after law school. It's a dizzying array of information! :mrgreen: I have a bunch of questions if any current tax lawyer or someone who knows would be so kind as to answer.

1. What sorts of opportunities in private practice are there for tax lawyers? Do they all work for large (i.e. BigLaw) firms or are there specialized tax boutiques too?