How did you KNOW that law was for you? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
orion

New

How did you KNOW that law was for you?

Post by orion » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:47 pm

Hello,
Apologizing for the long-winded post in advance.

I'm currently in my last year of undergrad, and in the process of applying to law school. However, I have been thinking hard about whether law school is the right path for me. I have the personal goal of earning a terminal degree, and with my major/education, it boils down to either earning a JD or PhD. I don't think I have the passion to pursue 5+ years of political science research (my major), even with my 4.0 major GPA. I'd enjoy teaching college courses more than conducting research, honestly. The shaky job market for PhDs and relatively low pay/ROI are really deterring me from pursuing that path.

My parents are pushing me to go K-JD, or to take a year off to sit at home and do LSAT prep 24/7 (if I don't get into my goal schools). They think my academic motivation will be curtailed by taking time off after graduating college. I'm hesitant to disregard their wishes and take time off, since they have graciously offered their assistance with financing my higher education. In their eyes, it's better for me to have a JD and decide to do something else afterwards, rather than going into the job market without a JD. They hoped I'd make it to medical school, but that's definitely not the path I want to take.