Finding a Job After Quitting Law School Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lawschoolistheworst

New

Finding a Job After Quitting Law School

Post by lawschoolistheworst » Sat May 26, 2018 5:04 pm

I'm in a troubling situation, but I'm sure I'm not the first person to feel this way. I hate law school, and I don't think I want to continue. However, there are possible consequences, and I would like to know what others think.

Before law school, I earned an Master's and was working professionally with a $75k salary. I then relocated and landed a grant-funded job that was, of course, term limited based on the grant. I will admit that most of my life I've been one of those cliches who said law school is my dream, so when the end of that job approached, I applied for the only part-time program in Seattle (at Seattle University) so I could continue working in my field. Evening classes after work were brutal, so after the summer, I transitioned to full time and stopped working. Of course I should have applied to UW. I realize that now, and SU's dismal ranking is part of the reason I see no value in continuing my legal education. My beginning salary graduating from SU will likely be lower than my pre-law school salary.

Here's where I start to doubt what to do. I have been successful. I think I'll be top 15% if not top 10% of my class. I did apply for transfer, but I feel no motivation to continue. I've even started applying for jobs in my pre-law school field, but I'm worried going to law school for a year and quitting will make me unemployable.

I would love advice if you have it. If have personal experience you'd be willing to share, that would be great.

sunyplatt

New

Re: Finding a Job After Quitting Law School

Post by sunyplatt » Sun May 27, 2018 4:36 am