Transactional Law vs Business School? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
hpntq

New

Transactional Law vs Business School?

Post by hpntq » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:50 pm

I am a 0L who just graduated college (4 months out), and I am currently studying for the LSAT. Unemployed currently.

I have been lurking on this site for a long time and I have come to the realization that I am not so sure law school is what I think it is, and leads to the employment that I thought it would lead to.

I studied philosophy in college, and I was primarily interested in how law and finance intersect our society. My capstone project was focused on how finance and law can undermine the communal development of society. Basically, I was interested in how the financial sector and the legal infrastructure of the financial sector, cause extreme insularity i.e., capital regeneration through financial innovations/tools like derivatives, securities, M&A, PE, LBO’s, really add nothing significant to the real economy, creating not only serious economic constraints on humans, but the planet as a whole. Despite my negative research results, however, what I got out of the research was that perhaps the transactional aspect of law in conjunction with finance, can be used in a way to spur the sustainable development of the real economy by investing or providing more of the necessary financial liquidity to, for example, sustainable industries so they can grow and develop.

The questions at hand is whether going to law school, in hopes of working in a legal transactional setting on project development & finance is the correct or efficient route towards my goal? I know a lot of people go to law school to work in court, or to become litigators, but I have no interest in any of that.

Should I consider business school instead? Any thoughts or opinions?

Best

TatNurner

Bronze

Re: Transactional Law vs Business School?