Go into law for the salary? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
physicsbro

New

Go into law for the salary?

Post by physicsbro » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:00 pm

Hi, I am a college student soon to be finishing my senior year. I double majored in mathematics and physics and have made very good grades. I realize that I do not want to pursue physics nor math any longer, but am currently under prepared for the workforce. Assuming I get into a top tier law school, and then assuming I make good enough grades for the chance at the lucrative careers, does law school seem like such a bad choice?

I know I have a rather strong work ethic when it comes to grades. I'm not quite sure how my math and physics ability will transfer over to law courses but I am willing to work hard at it for the chance of a nice paying job. I know that the lucrative salary is only available to those in the top 15 percent of so, but I like my odds. Anyone else go into law for the money and regret it, or are glad they did so?

mrtux45

Bronze

Re: Go into law for the salary?

Post by mrtux45 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:51 am

I think this has the potential to backfire on you if you're not careful.

How much research have you done about law school aside from salary stuff? The problem for you may not be getting in as much as making a financially sound investment or landing top 15% grades (which isn't a standardized requirement for a good outcome at all schools). Law school is very different from UG, and while I don't have a math or physics background, I'm sure LS is even more different from those UGs.

My advice would be to thoroughly research the day-to-day of law school/being a lawyer and if you're still interested, take a practice lsat and see how you score.

nealric

Post by nealric » Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:26 pm