Teacher and law student? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
ohmmm2018

New

Teacher and law student?

Post by ohmmm2018 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 7:45 pm

Anyone here ever taught school while going to law school at night?

I'm currently a night student and I'm a paralegal by day. I'm looking to switch to the teaching profession to have summers to do internships. Plus I have no real holidays and other reasons. My undergrad is English. I always wanted to teach but ended up switching directions. I remained interested but just figured the opportunity to teach would present itself in a different way one day. I think it would also be great to have been in the classroom as I'm interested in policy and education policy.

I'm concerned about the take home work and the stress of teaching. I talked to an old teacher of mine who was encouraging that it could be done. I would pretty much only take the job if it were at a magnet school. Most other schools in my area are high needs and it's just not a field to get into without a lot of training and the will to stay for a long time. Aka it's not something to do while trying to get a law degree at night.

So any advice is helpful! Even if you have suggestions for some other field that would get me off in the summers.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Re: Teacher and law student?

Post by totesTheGoat » Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:50 pm

General advice: Don't go to night law school while working a full-time job.