FSU Law Student Taking Questions Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
adcoelum

New

FSU Law Student Taking Questions

Post by adcoelum » Wed Jan 03, 2018 1:40 pm

I'm going into my second semester with good enough grades I can answer without a chip on my shoulder lol.

I graduated from UF undergrad in May 2017 and started at FSU Law in August 2017. Ask me anything!!

QUIZ

New

Re: FSU Law Student Taking Questions

Post by QUIZ » Sat Jan 06, 2018 5:37 pm

adcoelum wrote:I'm going into my second semester with good enough grades I can answer without a chip on my shoulder lol.

I graduated from UF undergrad in May 2017 and started at FSU Law in August 2017. Ask me anything!!
Did you choose FSU over UF for Law school? If so, why?

Also, did you receive $ from FSU?

adcoelum

New

Post by adcoelum » Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:48 pm

QUIZ wrote: Did you choose FSU over UF for Law school? If so, why?

Also, did you receive $ from FSU?
Yes and yes, kinda.

For me, it came down to culture. UF and FSU are functionally the same, but the culture at FSU is more friendly and welcoming than at UF. As much as I wanted to be a double gator and as hard as it was to go to FSU, it ended up being really important to going to a school that seemed to really care about my success and well-being.

I didn't initially get money from FSU, but I kept asking for it and eventually they gave me a partial scholarship. They were really upfront about why I didn't get it initially when I asked about it -- my stats were JUST below their automatic scholarships.

css14f

New

Post by css14f » Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:49 am

What kinds of things did you do, specifically, in order to get "good" grades? How did you study for the final?

adcoelum

New

Post by adcoelum » Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:53 pm

css14f wrote:What kinds of things did you do, specifically, in order to get "good" grades? How did you study for the final?