Ugghhh applied physics vs EE for patent lawyer Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Jouiqsic

New

Ugghhh applied physics vs EE for patent lawyer

Post by Jouiqsic » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:38 am

I am currently majoring in EE, but this field is not my cup of tea! I chose EE just because it is high demand in patent law field, but the more I take classes, the more I found out that I have no interest in it. I am thinking of switching my major to Applied physics+EE/law. Will it be hard to get hired with applied physics major than EE?

Nebby

Diamond

Re: Ugghhh applied physics vs EE for patent lawyer

Post by Nebby » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:40 am

So long as you to a good law school, no.

UVA2B

Gold

Post by UVA2B » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:41 pm

There won't be a huge difference for them, although EE is a generally more desirable background for patent work. But as mentioned, if you go to a good school, you're eligible for the patent bar, which is all that is necessary for getting into patent work.

ETA: don't pick a major for its desirability for patent work though. Pick a major based on what interests you most in a field you'd want to work in outside of law. Get the degree, work for some time in that field, then decide if you still want to go to law school.

makingthemove

New

Post by makingthemove » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:43 pm

Being more practical, chances are that you're more likely to get better grades in a topic you like than one that you don't.

Subban_Fan

New

Post by Subban_Fan » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:19 pm

There won't be a huge difference for them, although EE is a generally more desirable background for patent work. But as mentioned, if you go to a good school, you're eligible for the patent bar, which is all that is necessary for getting into patent work.