Grades/class rank vs school for biglaw Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
dwighthoward786

New

Grades/class rank vs school for biglaw

Post by dwighthoward786 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:56 am

I know t14 is very important but what if i graduated from t25 or t30 like ucdavis with a high gpa. Is biglaw still in reach?

rpupkin

Platinum

Re: Grades/class rank vs school for biglaw

Post by rpupkin » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:00 am

dwighthoward786 wrote:I know t14 is very important but what if i graduated from t25 or t30 like ucdavis with a high gpa. Is biglaw still in reach?
Yes. If you're in the top 10% at UC Davis, you're in good shape for big law. The problem is that 90% of the class won't be in the top 10%.

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:15 am

dwighthoward786 wrote:I know t14 is very important but what if i graduated from t25 or t30 like ucdavis with a high gpa. Is biglaw still in reach?
What's your plan for having a high law school GPA?

dwighthoward786

New

Post by dwighthoward786 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:48 pm

cavalier1138 wrote:
Study study study, i know law schools grades are based on a curve but from what i heard if you put in the time and effort, a 3.5+ GPA is possible

rpupkin

Platinum

Post by rpupkin » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:20 pm

dwighthoward786 wrote:
cavalier1138 wrote:
Study study study, i know law schools grades are based on a curve but from what i heard if you put in the time and effort, a 3.5+ GPA is possible
Almost all of your classmates will have the same plan. That's why it's generally a good idea--when deciding whether to attend a particular law school--to assume that your GPA will be around median.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

BlendedUnicorn

Platinum

Post by BlendedUnicorn » Thu Aug 17, 2017 1:30 pm