IP Lawyer / BU Grad - taking Qs Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
jhett

Bronze

IP Lawyer / BU Grad - taking Qs

Post by jhett » Fri Aug 04, 2017 3:29 pm

Graduated last decade, currently in-house IP lawyer.

Can answer questions about:
- BU law (my knowledge of BU is outdated since I graduated so long ago, but I can take a shot at it)
- Biglaw experience
- IP boutique experience
- In-house experience
- IP law practice

filament

New

Re: IP Lawyer / BU Grad - taking Qs

Post by filament » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:13 pm

Interested in your thoughts on:

IP boutique vs. biglaw IP practice for patent litigation?

Impression of Desmarais? Impression of other NYC patent litigation groups (e.g. Weil; Debevoise; Paul, Weiss)?

Exit options for patent litigation?

jhett

Bronze

Post by jhett » Fri Aug 04, 2017 5:33 pm

filament wrote:Interested in your thoughts on:

Impression of Desmarais? Impression of other NYC patent litigation groups (e.g. Weil; Debevoise; Paul, Weiss)?

I'm mainly pros with a little litigation experience, so my thoughts are somewhat limited.

For boutique versus GP firms, it depends on the boutique. Litigation at Irell/Fish/Finnegan and other elite IP boutiques will give you superior experience than most GP firms. The elite boutiques also tend to get the most interesting cases (e.g., stuff that goes to the Fed Circuit). Less elite boutiques mostly do lower stakes litigation, so GP biglaw firms are preferable to them.

I am not very familiar with NY litigation groups.

Non-firm exit options are usually to big tech companies that sue or get sued a lot (e.g , Apple, Google). If you have pros/IPR experience you might also be able to exit to generalist IP roles. You could also exit to the USPTO as a APJ (a coworker I know did that). Exits are usually at the senior associate level and later. I don't see too many junior to midlevel exit options.

kingpin101

Bronze